Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3

    Unanswered: Don't want to use navigation buttons

    Hi hope you can help,
    Im creating a catalogue with MS Access. On the main form I have a list box with all the names of the package and a subform that has all the details of that package.
    At the moment if I use the navigation buttons to view each package and then click on an item in the subform, the form I want pops up on the record I require.
    What I would like to do is NOT use the navigation buttons and to be able to just click on the package to display all the details of the package.
    At the moment all that works, the problem arises when I click on the item in the subform the message The changes you requested to the table were not successful because they would create duplicate values in the index, primary key, or relationship. Change the data in the field or fields that contain duplicate data, remove the index, or redefine the index to permit duplicate entries, and try again. comes up.

    I understand what the message is telling me but I dont want to make changes to the table, I just want to view the information in pop up form that will then allow me to make changes IF thats what I want to do.

    Can you help?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    I'm confused.

    How are navigation buttons related to the fact that you're modifying/adding data when you don't want to be?
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3
    It's not the navigation buttons that are the problem, it's the fact that i don't want to use the navigation buttons to go through all the packages to find the one I want, I just want to click on the package I'm looking for, then click on the item I want to pop up as new form. All this works when I use the navigation buttons, not when I just click on the desired package.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    So you have to set up an unbound listbox with all your packages and an After Update event procedure that does a FIND operation that uses the unbound listbox to find the package by navigating to it.... I think!

    Sound about right?
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3

    Smile

    Thank you StarTrekker, That certianly sounds right and is right.
    It now works the way I want it to.

    Thank you very much.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    You're very welcome
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •