Unanswered: Creating a Database driven site - help needed please

Hi guys, I am new to this forum, and very new to MSQL. I have no programming knowledge in php. Infact I am a graphic/ web designer more than a back end programmer.

I am working on a site for myself that will be a links database site. I am hosted by godaddy and familiar on how to set up a mysql database. Its from there that I get stuck! I have seen the log in for Mysqladmin but dont know how to use it.

I want the site to have the following:

A-z index, each linking to a page of peoples names alphabetically displayed, begining with A for eg. Each persons name will then link to a page of their own. Each persons page will have a thumbnail pic and a long list of external URLS (shown as descriptions, not URLS ie "Job Blogs runs down the road").

I would also like an alphabetical list on a separate page of peoples home sites, ie homepage of joe blogs, sue smith etc.

So, my question is, how do I set a database up, input the data and display it to match my website.

Any info on this or help would be extremely appreciated. I know its a lot to ask but I am starting from scratch with this.

Many thanks in advance guys!

bumping this up

guys I am bumping this thread up as nobody has replied yet.

Can someone please help me as I don't know where else to get this information.

Thanks

Provided Answers: 59
    there is no where near enough information to give a full answer
    there is, I doubt,no where near enough time form the volunteers here to provide an answer.

the first step is to clearly define, in your own mind, but preferably on paper, what it is you need, what you want to achieve.

then you need to design your data model
    Fundamentals of Relational Database Design -- r937.com
    and
    The Relational Data Model, Normalisation and effective Database Design
    are pretty good starting texts for normalising the data design