Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Unanswered: Using more than 7 IF statements (or simplifying)

Hi,

I am struggling with setting a number of cmd buttons to enable after a field has been updated.

What i am looking to do is enable a button if a field is either Tues,Wed,Thurs Fri,Sat but disable if Sun,Mon.

I have the if statement set up and it works great but i have 2 buttons for each date (like a calendar) AM and PM so i have 2 if statements for each date and need to do the same for 14 dates (28 if statements)

I am new to access and would appreciate any help. The statement is:
    If Me.dayname1 = "Tuesday" Then
    Me.cmdday1am.Enabled = True
    ElseIf Me.dayname1 = "Wednesday" Then
    ElseIf Me.dayname1 = "Thursday" Then
    ElseIf Me.dayname1 = "Friday" Then
    ElseIf Me.dayname1 = "Saturday" Then
    Else: Me.cmdday1am.Enabled = False

End If

Hope you understand and can help me out

Provided Answers: 6
    I'm not clear on the rest of it, but this can easily be simplified to:

Code:
    If Me.dayname1 = "Sunday" OR Me.dayname1 = "Monday" Then
      Me.cmdday1am.Enabled = False
    Else
    End If
    If you're saying Me.dayname1 repeats like Me.dayname2, then I'd use a For/Next loop along with that.
    Paul

Thanks,

I can understand the simplicity but i will still have trouble creating the rest of the statements.

This is going to be a booking form
    Each day has 2 buttons (AM/PM) and i would like to display 14 days like a calendar, when a button is pressed to populate the calendar i would like each day to either display the AM/PM of disable the AM/PM buttons so that for example on a Sunday the user cannot press the AM or PM buttons.

14 days - 28 Buttons (maybe i have over complicated things but that's what they want to see at work) Not sure what you mean by the For/Next loop.

So, are you saying the control names repeat like that?
    Paul

yep, each field and button is incremented by 1
    I have attached a screen shot if that helps