Unanswered: Access limitations and dangers of linked tables?

I'm curious as to when I should consider moving to SQL Server?

We're managing something like 12,000 active rows for one table and no clue how many rows in another table as it's parsing an XLS file & 1 row in there equates to about 1 row in 4 different tables.

I've been working with the original designer of this to make many normalization updates & I've made significant headway there. Now I'm running into him wanting to keep separate databases for different portions of the application for fear of data corruption nuking the whole DB.

I'm a relative Access noob (11yr experience web developer in ASP/SQL Server & PHP/MySQL) & have just learned about linking tables and JOINS across different databases. How much concern do we have of potential corruption if tables reside in same DB or if they are linked in?

The Electrical Engineer PhD I'm working for has developed a pretty high level application (pert near enterprise) all by himself and it got to the point where he was doing more web development than engineering, so he contracted me. Now my problem is, I'm more of a heads down coder vs a consultant on these types of things.

How do I convince him to take the SQL Server that's been offered by Corporate IT, lock it down with a password, end using Windows Authentication for application access, etc etc?

If I think of anything else, I'll add it, but this is where I'm at now.

Thanks in advance . . .