Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    288

    Unanswered: DB2 V9.5 - STMM errors

    DB2 V9.5 LUW on Windows. 32bit machine with 16GB of memory.

    There is one Instance with two Databases (STMM enabled) . this is a timestamped data warehouse that is updated nightly during a batch cycle.

    Seeing these warnings in the diaglog. Not sure what they mean.. Can anyone help?



    Code:
    2009-11-03-12.13.21.489000-300 E23479140H983      LEVEL: Warning
    PID     : 7064                 TID  : 3424        PROC : db2syscs.exe
    INSTANCE: DB2                  NODE : 000         DB   : DB
    APPHDL  : 0-20                 APPID: 
    AUTHID  : 
    EDUID   : 3424                 EDUNAME: db2agent (PRODDM) 0
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, Self tuning memory manager, stmmCalcAutoScaleFactor, probe:10
    0
    MESSAGE : Current DB configuration exceeds free physical memory. Self-tuning
              memory manager resetting automatic memory consumers to default
              values.
    DATA #1 : unsigned integer, 4 bytes
    2135162880
    DATA #2 : unsigned integer, 4 bytes
    2133852160
    DATA #3 : unsigned integer, 8 bytes
    4096000000
    DATA #4 : unsigned integer, 8 bytes
    1908408320
    DATA #5 : unsigned integer, 8 bytes
    4012310528
    DATA #6 : unsigned integer, 8 bytes
    82897211
    DATA #7 : unsigned integer, 8 bytes
    1825511109
    DATA #8 : Decimal, 8 bytes
    -1
    
    2009-11-03-12.16.22.382000-300 I23480125H497      LEVEL: Warning
    PID     : 7064                 TID  : 8076        PROC : db2syscs.exe
    INSTANCE: DB2                  NODE : 000         DB   : DB
    APPHDL  : 0-21                 APPID: *LOCAL.DB2.091103171322
    AUTHID  : 
    EDUID   : 8076                 EDUNAME: db2stmm  0
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, Self tuning memory manager, stmmEnforceMinSizeConstraints, pr
    obe:2255
    MESSAGE : Unable to find donor to satisfy minSize constraint

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    My guess is that your configuration is based on 16GB of memory, but 32 bit can only access 4GB. Anything over that is wasted.

    Andy

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    288
    Thanks. We will be splitting the databases up each into their own instance.. that should help

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    I not sure you understood. Your server is 32 bit. It can only access 4GB of memory. It does not matter how many instances you have, together they are all confined to 4GB of memory.

    Andy

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    ...of which at least 1 GB is reserved for the Windows kernel.
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    288
    Thanks for setting me straight : ) i get it now.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    My understanding is that every instance can use upto 2gb of memory. I could be wrong though.

    In the past, I have definitely had success by creating 1 db/instance in 32-bit windows , db2 9.5 when using STMM
    Last edited by sathyaram_s; 11-03-09 at 17:55.
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    On Windows all applications share the user memory area, which is limited to at most 3 GB. You can create multiple instances, but they will be competing for the same chunk of memory.
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,367
    I tend to agree with sathyaram_s. I think the limit is per db2sysc (instance).

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    Well, then you may be in for a surprise one day. 32-bit systems are called so because their address registers are 32 bit wide, which allows them to address directly only the first 4 GB of memory. Neither OS nor an application would be able to store an address longer than 32 bits.

    OSes often provide tricks, such as PAE on Windows, that allow applications to move data to and from the extended memory (above 4 GB). DB2 could use that for extended bufferpools, allowing you to squeeze more instances into 4 GB, but extended BP support has been discontinued in 9.7, if I'm not mistaken.
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    Last edited by sathyaram_s; 11-03-09 at 18:34.
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Zoetermeer, Holland
    Posts
    746
    Quote Originally Posted by itsonlyme44 View Post
    DB2 V9.5 LUW on Windows. 32bit machine with 16GB of memory.
    It could be a 64bit windows with 32bit DB2 installed. In that case you can spread the load over more databases.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    if this is the case, OP should be upgrading db2 to 64-bit

    Quote Originally Posted by dr_te_z View Post
    It could be a 64bit windows with 32bit DB2 installed. In that case you can spread the load over more databases.
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    288
    It is definitely a 32 bit machine with 32 bit DB2 installed.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Quote Originally Posted by dr_te_z View Post
    It could be a 64bit windows with 32bit DB2 installed. In that case you can spread the load over more databases.
    DB2 V9.5 does not allow you to create an instance of different bitness (32/64) than the server. All instances get their bitness from the hardware.

    Andy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •