Unanswered: Profiling Database

Hi All,
    I tried searching the forums, but couldn't find any results. I'm new to DB2 (mostly work in SQL Server 2005), but I need some help. I would like to profile a database to obtain the following information:
    - Table Name
    - Column Name
    - Data Type
    - Number of records
    - Number of Values (no NULLS)
    - Number of Unique values
    - Min Value
    - Max Value
    - Min Length
    - Max Length

I saw that in SYSIBM.SYSCOLUMNS, I can obtain Table Name, Column Name, and Data Type but I was hoping there might be a sys table that holds the other information. If not, how would I create a cursor? I have something that worked in Sybase SQL, but doesn't port over to DB2 syntax.

Thanks in advance for all the help.
    - jay

Provided Answers: 11
    name - columns and type can be retrieved from systables - syscolumns
    info about the data - only by executing some sql like
    select count(*) : nbr of rows
    select count(distinct... for unique values....
    max(xx) min(xx)
    Best Regards, Guy Przytula
    Database Software Consultant
    Good DBAs are not formed in a week or a month. They are created little by little, day by day. Protracted and patient effort is needed to develop good DBAs.
    Spoon feeding : To treat (another) in a way that discourages independent thought or action, as by overindulgence.
    DB2 UDB LUW Certified V7-V8-V9-V9.7-V10.1-V10.5 DB Admin - Advanced DBA -Dprop..
    Information Server Datastage Certified
    http://www.infocura.be

Most of this information is available in syscat.columns, sysstat.columns and sysstat.coldist.

But this information is not 'current', but reflects the status of the data when RUNSTATS was last run.

DB2 Information Centre for your version of the product will give description of the columns in each of the above views.

Cheers
    Sathyaram
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

Get a catalog poster