Thread: SQL join in VBA

Unanswered: SQL join in VBA

I am new to both SQL and VBA. I have successfully coded some SQL action queries within vba using DoCmd****nSQL. I am now trying to perform a LEFT MERGE of two tables. I know that SELECT statements cannot be executed with DoCmd****nSQL.

So how do I run a SELECT ... LEFT JOIN in vba. I have read several sites/forums and seen multiple suggestions, none of which have worked for me. Creating a recordset is suggested often, but I haven't understood enough of any of the sample code to get it to work for me. The SQL code works as desired in the query SQL script editor.

Here is what I am trying to run:

SQLString = "SELECT p.*, a.associate " & _
    " FROM patients AS p LEFT JOIN assoc AS a " & _
    " ON (p.First_Name = a.FirstName AND p.Last_Name = a.LastName; "

I would like the old patients table to be replaced by the new file resulting from the JOIN. Or at least a new table created with the results of the JOIN.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by kyle7; 11-10-09 at 16:27.

Madison, WI
    I would FIRST design the query using query designer and then see if the query is updatable. If it's not, it'll give you problems in code trying to update. If it doesn't, in query designer, change the VIEW to "SQL" versus "Design" view and then copy/paste your SQL Statement, edit the syntax a bit in the vba code (removing extra " or ' syntax), and you have your SQL statement.