Saving database information

Hi Guys,

I am new to programming, so kindly bear me

I am working on a project where parameters needed for database connection will be provided only once to the application. The question is

how and where to save such information to use the parameters for later use ?

which format will be secure ?

Thankx

As far as i could understand, the connection information is given as a parameter to the application. If it doesn't change at all, then better to store it in a small table in the database that has read right granted to all users.

During application run time, read the data, store it into a global variable and release the table for the next user.

If you tell the exact details of the database and language, you will get more exact responses.

End

(Not sure what you mean either.)

"Only once" ? Passwords and permissions within the server/db change all the time. The password should be provided each time the app is launched.

For a pure client-side app, store the connection parameters PLUS the database version it runs against (Not product version, but app version) in the app, not the db. That means a small file on the users C: drive. Never store the password, always ask for it. When the app is launched it picks up the parms from the file, asks the user for the password, and connects. Once connected, it checks that the app version matches the db version (else abort).

Once you have that running, you can support connections to different environments of the db (Prod, UAT, Test): store them all in the same local file; when launched, provide a drop-down and let the user choose which environment they want, then the password.

This allows:
    • client app v1.0 (distributed to all users) to run against db v1.0 for production
    • client app v1.2 (distributed to UAT testers only, but they then have two apps sitting on their desk top connecting to two dbs, and we do not want mixups, do we) to run against db v1.2 for UATesting