Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dbase Wars?

Dbase Wars?

I have seen Access way over used. I tell my students to stay away from it and look at free options like MySQL and MS SQL Express. Am I wrong? Do you see any Dbase wars like out MAC vs. PC?

Quote Originally Posted by Kevinvandale View Post
    Do you see any Dbase wars like out MAC vs. PC?
    not so much lately, because i think they've finally come to their senses, but for a couple of years several otherwise highly respected regular contributors on this forum used to denigrate mysql all the time as a "toy" database

and of course everyone dumps on access

i personally think access is a stellar database, always has been and always will be
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

I agree with Rudy. I've been using Access for about 20 years now. It sure does make my job a lot easier. Easy front end development - and the next logical step for anyone who has the mental capacity to understand that Excel is more than just "=sum(A2:A7)"

BTW: Interesting first post. Going by the subject, I was hoping it was about a new online game.
    Inspiration Through Fermentation

Boring & childish first post.
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

at least I was trying to be nice by using the word "interesting".

Nothing more than trolling.
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump

Quote Originally Posted by pootle flump View Post
    Nothing more than trolling.
    I'm always amazed at how bored a person could be when they would join a forum just to post something like that.

.Sorry you--PoodleFlump--find this boring...but I am IT instructor and I want some working professionals to help me make a correction on how I teach introduction to databases.

What I mean by over use is sharing an access database on a lan. I was in a training meeting where the instructor need some information. He put up an access database and it locked and was unusable.