Question Unanswered: Create an Oracle dblink from Postgres 8.4

Hello all,
    I am an experienced Oracle developer. I was asked to test the use of several Oracle tables from within a Postgresql database.
    My first idea was to create a dblink from postgresql towards the Oracle schema.
    So I've downloaded 8.4 version (standard not advanced) and tried to look in various documentation sites but I am unable to find out how can I create such a dblink.
    Any help would be very appreciated
    thanks
    bye
    nicola

You'll be better off establishing a link from Oracle to Postgres and doing push instead of pull. If you need to go the other way, Postgres has a dblink contrib module but it is not as robust as the Oracle equivalent.

PostgreSQL: Documentation: Manuals: PostgreSQL 8.4: dblink

Hello,
    Thanks but I am unable to find an example ... it seems there is not a "dblink create" statement and, in the dblink_connect page, there is no reference to something like an oci or, say, a tns connection ... in google I've found example with a Oracle-similar syntax (like "create public database link etc..") but it seems to belong to a different not free version ..
    I would really need to see an example of defining such a dblink ...

Hi,

I have to establish a dblink from postgres to oracle. I found that dblink module is cor establishing connectiviity inbetwwen postgres-postgres database server.
    I am still struggling with the issue to connect oracle from postgres. I tried with dbi-link and also tried to connect postgres from oracle but did not succeed. I am new to database administration, please help me to resolve this issue.