Exclamation Unanswered: Automatically inserting current date and time into a field

Hi

I'm still learning about Access and have created a Jobs database for our helpdesk. One of the fields is Status which is a combo box that has open and closed options. Another field is called Resolution and I want that field to show the current date and time when I choose closed from the status box.

I had written some code but I keep getting a runtime error 2465. It says that Microsoft Office Access can't find the field "Closed" referred to in your expression.

This is the code that I've written.

Private Sub Status_Change()
    If Me([Status]) = "Closed" Then
    Me([Resolution_ETA]) = Now()

End If

End Sub

It's probably a simple thing for someone who's good with Access but I just can't think what to do next.

I'd appreciate some help.

Thanks

Kathryn

If Me.[Status] Like "Closed" Then
    Me.[Resolution_ETA] = Now()
    End If

is it Resolution_ETA or Resolution ETA ?? down't throw in an underscore if it isn't in the actual name of the field/control

Hi

It's Resolution_ETA.

Thanks

Provided Answers: 59
    or better yet don't set a value in the form
    but set a default value in the table to now() and set the validation rull to be non null
    then either don't include the control int he update, or set it to NULL
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton