Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    3

    Unanswered: I want to sum all values in one grand total form

    Hello.
    I am Creating fee collection system for my school. I just want to do that all the fee of the individual student sums in a Grand Total field just like.I want to sum the all previous fees in next fee (so the it gives me grand total).I want to keep this grand total record in a separate Table or Form also.For example.
    For 1st Student
    Student Name: Imran
    Total Fee: 800
    Paid Fee : 800
    Balance: 0
    Grand Total:800
    For Next Student
    Student Name: Alizay
    Total Fee: 800
    Paid Fee :500
    Balance:300
    Grand Total: 1300
    For Next Student
    Student Name: Aftab Awan
    Total Fee:800
    Paid Fee:600
    Balance:200
    Grand Total:1900
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails untitled.GIF  
    Last edited by msAladin2009; 11-29-09 at 07:22.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    2,888
    Provided Answers: 6
    The common term for what you're trying to do is "running sum" or "running totals". Searching on that should turn up methods. In a report it would be simple, using the running sum property of a textbox. In a form, you'll need a DSum or a subquery in the query underlying the form.
    Paul

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    3

    I need more detail or method to creat it

    Hello.
    Kindly if you brief me in detail I will be thankful to you

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    32
    I have a slightly related problem about summing. I've got a column (say, Total) containing long integers in the "#,##0" format. When I run a query, say Crosstab, to sum up Totals belonging to a particular group, the result comes out as pure numbers (without the "," thousand separator). This might be just an aesthetic fault but I need to print the query/report with the "," to prevent my eyes hurting =D

    I tried to use the Format([Total], "#,##0") under SQL view which does the job, but then Access gives an error about "Data mismatch".
    -andi_kan
    Financial guy by trade, software tinkering by hobby

    PC : Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-3110M CPU @ 2.40GHz, 4GB RAM
    Windows 7 Professional 32-bit SP1
    MS Office 2010

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    2,888
    Provided Answers: 6
    I would format the output in the report, rather than the query.
    Paul

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by pbaldy View Post
    I would format the output in the report, rather than the query.
    I was thinking that too, but I just couldn't find the properties of the field to tweak the format.
    -andi_kan
    Financial guy by trade, software tinkering by hobby

    PC : Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-3110M CPU @ 2.40GHz, 4GB RAM
    Windows 7 Professional 32-bit SP1
    MS Office 2010

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    2,888
    Provided Answers: 6
    I was thinking of the format property of the textbox.
    Paul

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    32
    Found it, thanks. Was looking at the properties of the header rows.
    -andi_kan
    Financial guy by trade, software tinkering by hobby

    PC : Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-3110M CPU @ 2.40GHz, 4GB RAM
    Windows 7 Professional 32-bit SP1
    MS Office 2010

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •