Unanswered: microsoft access 2007

hi

i'm new to ms access 2007, and I would like to know what this "Link table manager" does which can be found under database tools?

I'm migrating ms access 2003 to ms access 2007 and, i found out last time that if I click on the "Link Table Manager" and select all tables to be updated & then click on "machine data source" and select the database which I'm working with under "data source name" and click ok, then I'm getting a message that all tables are link.

After which the connection of my database is very very fast. But if I don't do this, when I opened any forms in the database it takes a minute or two before it open. So I'm not sure what does this "link table manager" do and as well as the database I created under "data source name". Does it really solve the connection problem? confused

Thanks

Linking tables allows you to have a 2nd mdb (or SQL Server) 'backend' so to speak (which you do by: File->Get External Data->Link Tables). When you link a table into an mdb, you will see a <- or globe for the icon. This means that the table doesn't actually exist in the mdb (ie. you could delete the table in the mdb but it would still exist in the backend.)

The Link Table Manager is the control center so to speak for managing tables that are linked into an mdb. You use it to refresh tables linked into your mdb. If for example, you moved the backend mdb file which holds the actual data tables, you can click the 'prompt for location' in the Link Table Manager and then tell it where the new source is for your backend mdb tables. Or if you made design changes to your backend mdb which has the tables, you'd open the Link Table Manager, click Select All (or the appropriate tables), and then OK to refresh the tables.