Question Unanswered: Questions regarding a "ticketing system"

Hey folks,

I've been given a project, and I'm looking for input on the best approach on how to put it together.

I will be using Access 2007. I'm good with Oracle SQL syntax, I don't believe Access will be too different. I have a little experience with Access, and also very little (self taught) experience with VB. Please dumb everything down for me

A little info so you can better understand the goal

This program is supposed to be a ticketing system of sorts. The criteria in which a ticket would be created is based off data pulled from an Oracle DB. I can get the data from Oracle loaded/appended to a table fine, but after that is where I'm not sure how to approach it. I should also note, this is to be hosted on Sharepoint.

I don't expect to have many tables. There will probably be one for the tickets themselves, and another table to track performance. We have routes, and each route will have a ticket created for it (and assigned to an individual). I plan to have a table to hold the tickets themselves, and a seperate table, that will get updated once a week, to hold a snap shot of the route's performance at that given time. Having the weekly entry for each route will allow for historical reporting later on.

Some Questions..

- User IDs/Logins.

From what I was told, Access 2007 doesn't really "support" user accounts(compared to 2003), perhaps I have a misunderstanding there. Is the simplest way just to create a users table with enough fields for the ID, password, ect? If so, how does one go about storing what user is logged in at a given time? That would be helpful for any queries/reports for something assigned to that given person.

- Primary keys/Sharepoint

Since this will be on Sharepoint, should I expect to run into any issues with table design? IIRC, tables must have the primary key field titled ID. Any tips on playing nice with sharepoint would be helpful.

- Automatic append?