Question Unanswered: Database / Electronic Repository HELP

Good day all;

I'm currently working for a nonprofit NGO in the Health Sector and were looking at building an Electronic Repository / database that would be able to do the following;

1) store old information
    2) Link with other regional databases to pull epidemiological data from their database.
    3) Provide a Url for information to be uploaded into, and
    4) Provide this information to the World Wide Web trough a virtual library of some sort.

As I am new to this, Id like to ask is SQL Server the way to go in order to accomplish this task, and if not are there alternatives.

Im also looking to be completely trained in whatever solution is required, are there any suggested courses?

Provided Answers: 4
    SQL Server can be used as the underlying database for all those tasks (and most other databases too). But whatever database you choose, the database itself will not do all those tasks. You will need to develop a program for that.

If in your case "nonprofit NGO" stands for "low budget", you may want to have a look at PostgreSQL, an open source and free (money) database. Together with Django, a Python web framework, you can do all the things you mentioned. Django comes with about the best documentation I've ever seen. You may also take those into consideration when "nonprofit NGO" in your case stands for "high budget". (Django is by far not the only open source web development framework, nor is PostgreSQL the only open source database, they are just my preferred ones.)

The Django / PostgreSQL / Apache / Eclipse development / deployment environment is free ($ 0). But that is not the only factor to take into consideration when making a choice. They are only the tools. Look at the skills of the people who will have to work with it. If those are experienced MS-software people, go with the flow. MS offers certain (huge) price cuts for certain types of organisations (like for mine).