Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    62

    Unanswered: Changing DB 11g IP address and Name

    Is there an easy way to do this? I'm running OEL 5.2 and Oracle 11g db. I'd like to change the URL as well as the IP of the db. How can this be done?

    I made changes to the usual suspect files. Listener.ora, tnsnames.ora, but no luck.

    I did a find/grep that identified many files that contain the URL as well as the hard IP address.

    Regards,

    Mike

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    >How can this be done?
    IP# exists at Operating System level
    This is NOT an Oracle issue
    Refer this to your local System Admin.

    In some cases the host's IP is dynamically assigned via DHCP.
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    62
    Quote Originally Posted by anacedent View Post
    >How can this be done?
    IP# exists at Operating System level
    This is NOT an Oracle issue
    Refer this to your local System Admin.

    In some cases the host's IP is dynamically assigned via DHCP.
    My wording wasn't quite accurate. I'm not trying to change the IP of the machine, that's already been done.

    I need to determine where and what changes need to be made to configure an existing Oracle db to work with a new IP and HOST URL name. The Oracle DB was installed using one IP, now I want to change the Oracle configuration for the same DB to run on a box with a different IP.

    Regards,

    Mike

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    >I made changes to the usual suspect files. Listener.ora, tnsnames.ora, but no luck.
    "No luck" is a totally useless statement.

    Here are a couple of facts.
    1) Oracle RBMS does not know or care about IP#.
    2) Oracle RDBMS does not require any functioning network to operate.
    3) Since V10 Oracle does not require any listener.ora

    >I made changes to the usual suspect files. Listener.ora, tnsnames.ora,
    Listener.ora is a server side file.
    tnsnames.ora is a client side file.

    After host IP# changes, the whole system should be rebooted.
    In order to debug farther please use CUT & PASTE from terminal session, so I can see exactly what you do & how Oracle responds.

    As user "oracle" or which ever OS user owns Oracle s/w issue following:

    env | sort
    lsnrctl status
    lsnrctl service

    CUT commands & results and PASTE back here
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    62
    Actually, the DB seems to be running ok, however I'm having issues with OEM running. I get a fail message when I try to start it up. Here's the command output, I did change some names using XXXXX.

    Regards,

    Mike

    [oracle@XXXXX ~]$ env | sort
    COLORTERM=gnome-terminal
    CVS_RSH=ssh
    DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS=unix:abstract=/tmp/dbus-akw52sQaLP,guid=ee5f174bcbfa0eb71353ff9c2bd56500
    DESKTOP_SESSION=default
    DESKTOP_STARTUP_ID=
    DISPLAY=:0.0
    G_BROKEN_FILENAMES=1
    GDMSESSION=default
    GDM_XSERVER_LOCATION=local
    GNOME_DESKTOP_SESSION_ID=Default
    GNOME_KEYRING_SOCKET=/tmp/keyring-dk1gQ4/socket
    GTK_RC_FILES=/etc/gtk/gtkrc:/home/oracle/.gtkrc-1.2-gnome2
    HISTSIZE=1000
    HOME=/home/oracle
    HOSTNAME=xxxxx.xxxxx.com
    INPUTRC=/etc/inputrc
    LANG=en_US.UTF-8
    LESSOPEN=|/usr/bin/lesspipe.sh %s
    LOGNAME=oracle
    LS_COLORS=no=00:fi=00:di=00;34:ln=00;36i=40;33:so=00;35:bd=40;33;01:cd=40;33;01r=01;05;37;41:mi=01;05;37;41:ex=00;32:*.cmd=00;32: *.exe=00;32:*.com=00;32:*.btm=00;32:*.bat=00;32:*. sh=00;32:*.csh=00;32:*.tar=00;31:*.tgz=00;31:*.arj =00;31:*.taz=00;31:*.lzh=00;31:*.zip=00;31:*.z=00; 31:*.Z=00;31:*.gz=00;31:*.bz2=00;31:*.bz=00;31:*.t z=00;31:*.rpm=00;31:*.cpio=00;31:*.jpg=00;35:*.gif =00;35:*.bmp=00;35:*.xbm=00;35:*.xpm=00;35:*.png=0 0;35:*.tif=00;35:
    MAIL=/var/spool/mail/oracle
    OLDPWD=/u01/app/oracle/oradata/XXXXX
    ORACLE_HOME=/u01/app/oracle/product/11.1.0/db_1
    ORACLE_SID=XXXXX
    PATH=/u01/app/oracle/product/11.1.0/db_1/bin:/u01/app/oracle/product/11.1.0/db_1/OPatch:/usr/kerberos/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/home/oracle/bin:/sbin:/home/oracle/OPatch/utility/OPatch:
    PWD=/home/oracle
    SESSION_MANAGER=local/xxxxx.xxxxx.com:/tmp/.ICE-unix/4896
    SHELL=/bin/bash
    SHLVL=2
    SSH_AGENT_PID=4930
    SSH_ASKPASS=/usr/libexec/openssh/gnome-ssh-askpass
    SSH_AUTH_SOCK=/tmp/ssh-lOUuCA4896/agent.4896
    TERM=xterm
    USERNAME=oracle
    USER=oracle
    _=/usr/bin/env
    WINDOWID=50331729
    XAUTHORITY=/tmp/.gdmVZQA4U
    XMODIFIERS=@im=none


    LSNRCTL for Linux: Version 11.1.0.7.0 - Production on 05-DEC-2009 14:02:05

    Copyright (c) 1991, 2008, Oracle. All rights reserved.

    Connecting to (DESCRIPTION=(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=IPC)(KEY=EXTPROC15 21)))
    STATUS of the LISTENER
    ------------------------
    Alias LISTENER
    Version TNSLSNR for Linux: Version 11.1.0.7.0 - Production
    Start Date 03-DEC-2009 11:38:21
    Uptime 2 days 2 hr. 23 min. 44 sec
    Trace Level off
    Security ON: Local OS Authentication
    SNMP OFF
    Listener Parameter File /u01/app/oracle/product/11.1.0/db_1/network/admin/listener.ora
    Listener Log File /u01/app/oracle/product/11.1.0/db_1/log/diag/tnslsnr/xxxxx/listener/alert/log.xml
    Listening Endpoints Summary...
    (DESCRIPTION=(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=ipc)(KEY=EXTPROC15 21)))
    (DESCRIPTION=(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=tcp)(HOST=xxxxx.xx xxx.com)(PORT=1521)))
    Services Summary...
    Service "XXXXX" has 1 instance(s).
    Instance "XXXXX", status READY, has 1 handler(s) for this service...
    Service "XXXXXXDB" has 1 instance(s).
    Instance "XXXXX", status READY, has 1 handler(s) for this service...
    Service "XXXXX_XPT" has 1 instance(s).
    Instance "XXXXX", status READY, has 1 handler(s) for this service...
    The command completed successfully

    lsnrctl service
    Connecting to (DESCRIPTION=(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=IPC)(KEY=EXTPROC15 21)))
    Services Summary...
    Service "XXXXX" has 1 instance(s).
    Instance "XXXXX", status READY, has 1 handler(s) for this service...
    Handler(s):
    "DEDICATED" established:66 refused:119 state:ready
    LOCAL SERVER
    Service "XXXXXXDB" has 1 instance(s).
    Instance "XXXXX", status READY, has 1 handler(s) for this service...
    Handler(s):
    "D000" established:0 refused:0 current:0 max:1022 state:ready
    DISPATCHER <machine: xxxxx.xxxxx.com, pid: 8198>
    (ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=tcp)(HOST=xxxxx.xxxxx.com)(PORT =51280))
    Service "XXXXX_XPT" has 1 instance(s).
    Instance "XXXXX", status READY, has 1 handler(s) for this service...
    Handler(s):
    "DEDICATED" established:66 refused:119 state:ready
    LOCAL SERVER
    The command completed successfully

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    5,800
    Provided Answers: 11
    Most Java programs will cache IP addresses. You may need to restart the OEM process to get it to re-query DNS for the new IP address.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    West Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    2,713

    Cool EM or Grid?

    Quote Originally Posted by PanamaMike View Post
    Actually, the DB seems to be running ok, however I'm having issues with OEM running. I get a fail message when I try to start it up.
    ...etc...
    Is it the OEM DB Console or are you using Grid Control.

    For EM console you may need to either re-create the repository or drop and create new.
    The person who says it can't be done should not interrupt the person doing it. -- Chinese proverb

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    62
    It's for EM. Seems there might be a few other issues, but I'm not sure what's causing them. I'm finding a log file which claims a port 111 is refusing connect?

    I'm a bit surprised at the complexity of the task. Seems like it should be easy to set the IP and machine name values in one place.

    Recreate the repository huh? That makes sense since some of the .dbf files had references to the IP. Guess I'll just punt and do a reinstall...

    Mike

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    >That makes sense since some of the .dbf files had references to the IP.
    HUH?

    Oracle RDBMS is IP# agnostic.
    You can take cold backup; restore onto new system & open DB without any problems;
    regardless of IP# on source or destination systems.
    Since on V10+ no listener.ora file is required, you can
    lsnrctl start
    & be online in under 2 minutes (because DB auto registers itself every 60 seconds).
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Liverpool, NY USA
    Posts
    2,509
    The database doesn't care about IP but the apache web server that is supporting EM does and needs to be changed.
    Bill
    You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    62
    Quote Originally Posted by anacedent View Post
    >That makes sense since some of the .dbf files had references to the IP.
    HUH?

    Oracle RDBMS is IP# agnostic.
    You can take cold backup; restore onto new system & open DB without any problems;
    regardless of IP# on source or destination systems.
    Since on V10+ no listener.ora file is required, you can
    lsnrctl start
    & be online in under 2 minutes (because DB auto registers itself every 60 seconds).
    O.K., I think we have a little bit of a disconnect regarding what I'm trying to do. I'm trying to move an entire Oracle DB install from one IP/URL "Machine" to another. I discovered with grep that the system01.dbf file makes reference to both the IP address and URL, but that database is specific to the system config/install.

    The example you're giving is for moving a particular database from one machine to another but, but not the actual Oracle RDBMS application from one machine to another.

    Why am I doing this? I'm using a VMServer which can run on any correctly speced physical hardware. The idea would be to have the ability to move the entire image/environment from one box to another without having to build a new box. This happens to be a hurdle in the event I need to change the boxes URL and IP.

    Regards,

    Mike

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    62
    Quote Originally Posted by beilstwh View Post
    The database doesn't care about IP but the apache web server that is supporting EM does and needs to be changed.
    Good point, thanks for that info...

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    I've done musical hardware more times than I can count.
    If you really know both the DB & application, a seamless switch between different hardware platforms in under 1 minute can be done.
    Shutdown application on old box.
    now "at the same time" 3 things get changed
    DNS
    hostname on old box
    hostname on new box is changed to old hostname
    After all 3 above are done, then start application on new box.
    If a three tier application, the middle tier needs to be restarted, too.

    Clients will not care that they are talking to a new DB server system
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    62
    Quote Originally Posted by anacedent View Post
    I've done musical hardware more times than I can count.
    If you really know both the DB & application, a seamless switch between different hardware platforms in under 1 minute can be done.
    Shutdown application on old box.
    now "at the same time" 3 things get changed
    DNS
    hostname on old box
    hostname on new box is changed to old hostname
    After all 3 above are done, then start application on new box.
    If a three tier application, the middle tier needs to be restarted, too.

    Clients will not care that they are talking to a new DB server system
    I'm sure that works, the difference is I'm trying to change the hostname of the new box, not preserving the previous host name.

    Why would I want to do this? The idea is to have one base level VM configuration created with the majority of the install/configuration work done. Base OS install, base Oracle DB and base OAS installation. Then replicate that machine on physical boxes. The only change I would like to make after getting the VM running are the IP address of the box and hostname. That also involves getting all of the VM installed apps. configured to work with the new address.

    Mike

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    >base OAS installation
    In the past depending upon version of OAS, it was impossible or a major "challenge!" to get OAS to function after IP# change.

    Good Luck!
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •