Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    35

    Unanswered: SSIS Deployment Strategy Question

    I am creating my first SSIS Package. It is very basic and the development is going smoothly.

    The problem is that the Production SQL Server that will run this package as a scheduled job is also our Development SQL Server.

    If there is ever an error in Production, I am not sure how I can troubleshoot the package if the Production machine is the same as the Development machine.

    I wonder if I should just copy the entire Production SSIS project, rename it and make that one my Development project so I can use it to troubleshoot problems or make changes without effecting the actual production package.

    Thoughts

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Bingo

    do not use ssis
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    35
    Quote Originally Posted by Brett Kaiser View Post
    Bingo

    do not use ssis
    Why do you say that?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    tell me how you will migrate this to production?

    In any case

    WHAT does this lovely package do?

    List the steps
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    35
    The SSIS package will import Peoplesoft information into JD Edwards on a weekly basis.

    Anybody else got any strategies they use when the Development Server is also the Production Server?

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Use a stored procedure

    BULK INSERT (what's the file format?) into a staging table
    After successful load, archive the file
    Perform Data cleansing and auditing (Do you have a control file or Headers and trailers?)
    Need to delta processing?
    Then insert the data you need to the destination table

    We don't need no stinkin badges...um DTS...ummm...SSIS

    They are ALL a hack

    MOO
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    In front of the computer
    Posts
    15,579
    Provided Answers: 54
    Brett is rabidly anti-SSIS. Brett learned to code in an environment without any GUI tools and he completely disdains the use of such tools.

    There are many ways to cope with your development and production databases on one server. A simple way to handle the problem you're dealing with is to dynamically modify your conenction object to point to either development or production at runtime. Without considerable insight into your needs, there may be better solutions that will work for you too.

    Brett's suggestion will definitely work. It is quite possibly what I might do myself. If you are accustomed to the "creature comforts" of an integrated environment like SSIS, you'll probably do better to continue using it instead of investing the time to learn the tools that we use.

    -PatP
    In theory, theory and practice are identical. In practice, theory and practice are unrelated.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    on the wrong server
    Posts
    8,835
    Provided Answers: 6
    I call the guy on my team who thinks SSIS is the solution to every a problem SSIS-ie.

    Anywho. The real issue here is config management. Dev Server = Production Server. I do not fly without a net anymore because I am old and falling down hurts.

    Brass tax. You need a seperate Dev environment. If your boss fights you on this, hose the server a couple of times "deving".
    “If one brings so much courage to this world the world has to kill them or break them, so of course it kills them. The world breaks every one and afterward many are strong at the broken places. But those that will not break it kills. It kills the very good and the very gentle and the very brave impartially. If you are none of these you can be sure it will kill you too but there will be no special hurry.” Earnest Hemingway, A Farewell To Arms.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8

    AKAROUCHE Mohamed

    Hi,
    You have 1 solution :
    make two steps onto you schuder. The first step will execute into development environment. The twice will execute into production development.
    For this, you must have two diferents packages.
    To duplicate a package : right click on the initial package, then print code.
    Select all, copy. After this, add a new package.
    In this new package, right click, print code, select all and paste.
    In this second package you will only have to modify the driver connexion (it'll be the driver for you production database)

    ----------
    AKAROUCHE Mohamed

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Quote Originally Posted by akarouche mohamed View Post
    Hi,
    You have 1 solution :
    make two steps onto you schuder. The first step will execute into development environment. The twice will execute into production development.
    For this, you must have two diferents packages.
    To duplicate a package : right click on the initial package, then print code.
    Select all, copy. After this, add a new package.
    In this new package, right click, print code, select all and paste.
    In this second package you will only have to modify the driver connexion (it'll be the driver for you production database)

    ----------
    AKAROUCHE Mohamed


    AND after you've made these changes...you will test it HOW?

    And to Pat's back handed compliment, Thank you

    GUI is for people who don't know what they are doing

    NEVER MIND the fact that you can't srcipt and push code to production in a real world environment

    Not to say that 3rd party hacks haven't made a living do this sort of crap

    M$ Should be shot for offering these "tools"
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Quote Originally Posted by Pat Phelan View Post
    you'll probably do better to continue using it instead of investing the time to learn the tools that we use.
    I take QUITE an exception to that statement...it is probably EASIER to learn than all of the "nuances" of a GUI

    PLUS they are a HACK and may or may not work the way the APPEAR to be set up to work.

    "Am I wrong" -- Walter Sobchak

    The Big Lebowski (1998)

    "No you're not wrong, you're just an A$$hole" -- The Dude

    "Calmer than you"
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Quote Originally Posted by akarouche mohamed View Post
    then print code.
    I missed this...priceless
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    35
    Thanks to all those who actually answered my question.

    As I stated, the SSIS Package is extremely straight forward, so I am probably just going to have 2 packages, one that points to the Development Database and the other that points to the Production Database.

    Once we go live and there are problems with the Production Package, I can just troubleshoot with the Development Package and then make the necessary changes to the Production Package.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •