Question Routers and Switches connectivity DB Model

Hi all,

I have a db design dilema and since I'm a novice in such area I think I would ask for a little help.

I need to represent Network Elements having different ports which will then be connected together.

To make it easier to get the idea, I'm talking of routers and switches which have many ports each which will then be connected together. Of course, a physical port can't be physicaly connected twice so this is also a requirement.

I have included a picture of what I've came up with which is of course incomplete since I wouldn't ask your advise

Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails db.jpg  
    Last edited by LiNuXaDDiKt; 12-12-09 at 17:21.

Since a port can only be connected once and only to another port you can drop the third table and just add a column to the port table which contains a port id that it is connected to (joining the table to itself). When you make the connection your program (or a trigger) must make sure that both port rows must have null connection columns and both must point back to different network elements, then you update both rows to contain the other rows key. When you drop a connection simply make both columns null again.

In front of the computer
    I'd create a connection table with two columns, from_port and to_port. Create a unique constraint on from_port, a unique constraint on to_port, and a check constraint to make sure that from_port does not equal to_port (unless you have to allow for loopback plugs). This uses constraints to cover everything except for two different connector rows with the from_port and to_port reversed (which effectively describes the same connection).

In theory, theory and practice are identical. In practice, theory and practice are unrelated.

Exclamation Going in the right direction I think...

MarkATrombley, your idea seems quite easy to implement/validate for this requirement.