Unanswered: How much O/S disk space left for a tablespace?

hi Guys

Apologies up front if this is a trivial question, but i am a relative newbie with Oracle..

We are running ORACLE 10g on LINUX.

If i have a tablespace, 'XYZ' and i want to ensure that there is sufficient space allocated for it to grow, i can query the 'dba_data_files' view. For each datafile in that tablespace there is a record, showing (amongst other things) the maximum size allocated (maxbytes) and the amount of space used thus far (bytes).
    And if there is more than one datafile for that tablespace, then obviously once can get a wholistic picture by simply summing the 'bytes' column and comparing that with the sum of the (maxbyets) column to see if one has to extend the tablespace by either extending one of the datafiles or by adding another datafile.

Now this is all good and well for determining whether or not i need to allocate more tablespace by extending datafiles or adding datafiles... and this i can check every day via a simple SQL statement which queries the 'dba_data_files' view...

The problem is i also want to know what the situation is with the operating system space on the volume which houses the datafiles...
    Currently i simply do a
    df -h
    on the ORACLE server and then manually look at the storage situation on the volume housing the datafiles.

My question is whether i can do this O/S check using an ORACLE query?
    So is there for example a table or view which has information on the space situation of the underlying O/S? Kinda like the results of a 'df -h' ?

many thanks

Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Provided Answers: 1
    >So is there for example a table or view which has information on the space situation of the underlying O/S?
    No such table exists by default.
    Nothing prevents you from creating such a table & populating it via a script daily.

Typically 1 tablespace grows faster than the other tablespaces.