Question Looking to set up apache/mysql/php.. (I think? Newbie here.)

Hello everyone! How are we today?

My name is Kangaroo32 and I'm new here. I just finished signing up (reading the rules took so long! ), and I would really appreciate it if someone here could provide an answer to a rather wordy question.

I have some light experience using PHP and MySQL, from the days in high school. Currently, I need to set up some sort of database with forms and multiple tables. I'd also like to receive feedback from the database (for example, if I have a list of friends' birthdays, I would like the database to let me know when a birthday is coming up, say 24 hours in advance). I'm pretty sure that all of the above can be done by a PHP/MySQL combination, and as that's what I feel comfortable with already, I'd like to get started coding. (unless somebody knows a better way -- these languages are really simple)

Also, I want to avoid using a web server to do all of this for general security reasons, as well the cost of paying for such a server. I remember a friend suggesting something called "Apache", but this is as far as my knowledge in this area goes.

I'm running Windows XP Pro, SP2.

As the saying goes, I would very much appreciate any help on setting up something on my computer to run a MySQL/PHP database (locally).

My current issue is this:

Use the links below to download the Apache HTTP Server from one of our mirrors. You must verify the integrity of the downloaded files using signatures downloaded from our main distribution directory.

There was a link there, to explain this foreign language to me, and that link led to this:

The following example details how signature interaction works. In this example, you are already assumed to have downloaded httpd-2.0.44.tar.gz (the release) and httpd-2.0.44.tar.gz.asc (the detached signature).