Unanswered: Restricting exclusive mode for certain user?

Short of always being the first to open the DB, how can I restrict access of my DB to just myself? I'm asking because I am rolling out the DB out soon but it's still pretty much in construction and I'll need to tweak here and there without asking everyone to log out.

I've seen someone "lock" his DB and preventing anyone from opening in exclusive mode. He is now gone, and I couldn't ask how he did it. I found that the .ldb file was linked to his PC and does not go away even after it exits the program, or even when the PC is shut. I'd like to do this for my DB, if that's possible.
    -andi_kan
    Financial guy by trade, software tinkering by hobby

PC : Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-3110M CPU @ 2.40GHz, 4GB RAM
    Windows 7 Professional 32-bit SP1
    MS Office 2010

I'm not sure if you're referring to disabling the admin mode for the user, or shutting them out altogether for certain periods of time, or shutting them out permanently all the time.

If it's the first, I would look at disabling the shift-bypass based on the user's window's login and a reference user's table.

If it's the second option, I would create a table with a single record and two fields; a primary key and a boolean field which you can toggle as desired. On startup of the application, check against this table, and if it's toggled to kick out, then execute a "docmd.quit" command. You may also want the user's table with an "fldAdmin" boolean field so you don't accidentally lock yourself out, referencing it similarly to the previous method.

If it's the last, then do similarly to the previous method excepting that you don't bother to look up the toggle field, just close it down right away.
    Me.Geek = True

Provided Answers: 59
    sorry in my books thats the wrong approach