Thread: Dates!

Unanswered: Dates!

before i get to my question i wanted to mention that im not sure how to find out which version, fixpack, etc. of DB2 that im using. i tried using :

"db2level -> to get db2 version and fixpack level
    db2licm -l -> to get the db2 type (WSE, ESE, etc)"

but apparently my connection to the server is set to read-only. is there another way?

onto my question: i am using Access 07 to run a pass thru query to the DB2 machine to return some data. one of the fields is called DATE_ID and is a date field. im am a complete beginner when it comes to DB2 SQL syntax so im unable to manipulate the date fields the way i would like to (month and year to date totals). for example my code for YTD in access is:

Code:
    Between DateAdd("yyyy",-1,DateSerial(Year(Date()),1,1)) And DateAdd("yyyy",-1,Date())
    and im trying to figure out how to incorporate something similar into the Where clause of my pass through query. i have found DB2 date functions online, but i could not make much sense of them.
    thanks.

Provided Answers: 1
    maw230, It all depends on which you learned first. From my DB2-centric point of view, DB2's date functions are clear and simple. It is Access's date functions that make my eyes cross and resort to Google to find what that weird syntax is trying to accomplish.

If I followed that 'weird' access syntax, you want to get last year's Jan 1 date and the date one year ago from today's date.

Here is one way to do that (this works natively in DB2 but I am not sure about passed through Access).
    Code:
     some-date BETWEEN DATE(CAST(YEAR(CURRENT_DATE - 1 YEAR) AS CHAR(4) || '-01-01')
                   AND CURRENT_DATE - 1 YEAR
    The last part (after the AND) is fairly simple. CURRENT_DATE is the same as DATE(). It returns today's date. - 1 YEAR subtracts 1 year from that date.

The more complicated one (after the BETWEEN) is creating a 1 Jan date for the previous year. Starting at the center and working out: