Unanswered: Selecting the Column Name from on table and using it as a value in another column

Hi Guys

I am relatively new to Data Warehousing and Oracle. I am trying to write a maintenance script that selects data from an imported tmp_table thats come from a flat file and moves it into dimension tables.

In the tmp_table I have column names , id, location, 2009_10, Flag and type. I have a dimension table called date_dim, which holds date_id and year.

I want to write a statement that takes the column name, 2009_10 from the tmp_table and inserts it as a record into the column name year in the date_dim table. Is this possible?? Could anyone tell me the syntax of this statement so I can write it?

I have been using the following statments for other columns but I cannot do that for the date_dim table.
    Code:
    INSERT INTO <table_name>
    (SELECT column
    FROM
    	source_table
    WHERE
    	column NOT IN
    	(SELECT DISTINCT
    		column
    	FROM
    		destination_table));
    If anyone has any thoughts on what I am tying to achieve or can help me I woud be very grateful. Thanks for your time looking at my issue. Regards

Look up execute immediate. It will do what you want.
    Bill
    You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.

Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Provided Answers: 1
    >I want to write a statement that takes the column name, 2009_10 from the tmp_table and inserts it as a record into the column name year in the date_dim table.
    This challenge results directly from poor/bad design.
    The table should NOT have a column which include fixed date information.
    Oracle table should have single column such as ACTIVITY_MONTH;
    which then can store TO_DATE('2009_10','YYYY_MM'), TO_DATE('2009_11','YYYY_MM'), etc.
    The downside for existing design, is custom/unique SQL for each reporting period & no use of bind variables.