Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Help ASAP!!!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4

    Exclamation Unanswered: Help ASAP!!!

    Hello everyone, i have this system that am developing in PHP and using Ms Access Database, it has been working just fine until just the other day that whenever am querying from this Database, I get the Below error message. I just can't find a way to get rid of it. Does anyone here know the cause and the possible solution for it? Your help will be highly appreciated.

    Warning: odbc_exec() [function.odbc-exec]: SQL error: [Microsoft][ODBC Microsoft Access Driver] The Microsoft Jet database engine could not find the object 'MSysDb'. Make sure the object exists and that you spell its name and the path name correctly., SQL state S0002 in SQLExecDirect in C:\xampp\htdocs\tender\standardlist.php on line 49

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    #1 Always a good idea to use a meaningful title for your threads.
    #2 Always a good idea to post your thread in the correct forum.

    Moving to the Access forum
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4
    Thanks, am new on this forum.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    if you'd done a google search you would have realised this is symptomatic of a corrupt file

    so options are
    go back to the most recent backup
    assuming you acan open the db try a compact and repair (do a back up first)
    failing that try importing the datat into a cleand new mdb
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by healdem View Post
    if you'd done a google search you would have realised this is symptomatic of a corrupt file

    so options are
    go back to the most recent backup
    assuming you acan open the db try a compact and repair (do a back up first)
    failing that try importing the datat into a cleand new mdb
    Yes, I saw that on Google and even download software that supposedly repair the mdb but it was no good and even the Access compact and repair doesn't work. Am reluctant to create a new mdb. Is there any thing else tht can be done?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    The new db is just swapping one out with the other.
    Create a blank db, import all data (if you can). Once tested remove your old db and swap it out with the new one you created.
    I'm assuming that you don't have a backup of your database right?
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    3,926
    MSysDb errors are nasty. Pootle's and healdem's suggestion will hopefully work otherwise you may end up rebuilding some of your tables and salvaging what you can from what's importable into a new mdb file. I would definately get the tables out of the current mdb and into a new mdb. I've tried many times recovering an mdb with this error. Sometimes I was successful, often not. Make sure to double-check your relationships/indexes on all the tables after you fix or re-do.
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Guyz, i had a backup for the mdb so i deleted the corrupted one and replaced it with the backup. Thanks again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •