Unanswered: Paradox 11 database help

I am very new to paradox but my company is using paradox 11, today our database went corrupt. We recovered the database from back up and when we try to search the program freezes. I have a feeling that there are too many records. I need to find a way to search by date and remove or archive old information. Let me know what addition information is required. Thank you for your help.

first, the mandatory caveat.. you have a business running on a platform that's been dead and vastly un-supported for the past decade.. if you aren't well into a replacement process, you're an accident waiting to happen, and this might be that accident..

there are MANY possible issues here, internal and/or external.. if something really failed, and it was already bad in the last backup, the problems could be compounded, of course..

to start:

what error messages did you get?
    what errors in the backup?
    how old is the backup?
    how big are the main tables (in MB)?

the odds of "too many records" are slim.. you can't remove data that is linked to other data, even old data, unless you understand the links and what will happen if the data is removed.. "data integrity".. so that's the LAST thing that you'll want to do..

the most common problem is simply out-of-synch data and indexes.. usually easy to fix if that's the problem.. also usually easy to prevent going forward, if certain external rules and parameters are followed..
    --
    Steven Green - Myrtle Beach, South Carolina USA

http://www.OasisTradingPost.com

Oasis Trading Post
    - Collectibles and Memorabilia
    - Vintage Lego Sets and Supplies
    - and Paradox Support, too

We did not recieve any error messages, or at least any that I could see.
    The back up is from 1-9-10.
    The MB file is 1,008kb.

if there are no errors, what made you decide that it was corrupt?
    what files did you restore from the backup?
    and even more important, did you make a CURRENT backup first?