Unanswered: Strange dbms_scheduler behaior: job won't run under certain conditions (listed)

I am a java programmer, not a dba, so bear with me.

I'm using Oracle 10g on a Windows 2003 Server platform.

I have written a stored procedure that creates a dbms_scheduler job. The job executes another stored procedure. The start_date is set to 'systimestamp' so that it will run immediately upon creation, and the repeat_interval is 'freq=daily'.

When the server that hosts Oracle is on its own, the job is created normally, it runs once immediately, the stored procedure does what it was intended to do, and the job runs daily as intended.

However, the system for which my application is written is comprised of three servers, the one that hosts the Oracle database, and two others (also Windows 2003 Server) that, when booted and running other parts of the application, establish ODBC connections with the Oracle database on the Oracle host.

When I attempt to create the job with all three servers (and associated applications) running (i.e. ODBC connections established) the job will not run.

It does show up in the dba_scheduler_jobs view with a next_run_date that is milliseconds BEFORE the listed start_date. The run_count is 0, enabled is true, it is not listed as 'broken.'

If I let the system sit like that, the job will never run.

However, as soon as I shut down the other two servers (i.e. remove the ODBC connections) the job will run on the Oracle host server, the next_run_date displays the correct time for running the next day, and run_count is incremented.

For some reason, having the ODBC connections from external servers seems to lock the whole scheduling process.

Can anyone tell me why this is and how I can correct it? The job needs to be able to run immediately on creation, and then on schedule (daily) even when the other servers have active ODBC connections to the db.

Thanks.

Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Provided Answers: 1