Question Unanswered: How to create Oracle database using Php code?

Is that possible to create a new Oracle database using PHP code? I know that it is possible to create MySql database using PHP. I'm new to Oracle database. Thanks in advance.

Provided Answers: 12
    Quote Originally Posted by gens View Post
    Is that possible to create a new Oracle database using PHP code?
    No.

I know that it is possible to create MySql database using PHP. I'm new to Oracle database.
    A "database" in Oracle is a completely different beast than a "database" in MySQL.

My guess is that you in fact want to create a user (=schema) in Oracle. That would be possible from within PHP, but you'll need admin privileges to do that.

I doubt that any serious Oracle DBA will give a PHP script access to the database through a user that has admin privileges.

Lightbulb

Thanks for reply!

I'm MySql + PHP developer for many years. Recently I just trying Oracle db. I have a MySql utility (PHP class) that performs common tasks like CREATE, DROP, ALTER MySql db (for remote servers). I just try to do that for Oracle db.

Quote Originally Posted by gens View Post
    I have a MySql utility (PHP class) that performs common tasks like CREATE, DROP, ALTER MySql db (for remote servers). I just try to do that for Oracle db.
    As I said: you can't do that.

But again: you most probably want to create a user, not a database in Oracle.

You might want to start with reading the basics:

http://download.oracle.com/docs/cd/B28359_01/server.111/b28318/intro.htm#i60813

Oh, I just stated my intention and I understand your reply.

But Donald K. Burleson (the book author of "Oracle Tuning: The Definitive Reference") said it is possible.

Please take a look at How to create Oracle database using Php code? - Oracle DBA Forums

Do you believe that he just try to trick me into buying his recommended book?

Believe me: you do not want to create a database.