Unanswered: Questions from a newbie - SQL server agent

Hey guys,

I'm new to managing SQL servers with Server Enterprise Manager. (v.8). There are a bunch of databases set up on this server, some of which are replicating to another server or db. I'm trying to set up an integrity check on the main database and I'm trying to setup the mail session of the SQL server agent so I can get emails is something is not working.

My questions are:
    If I stop and start the SQL server agent so the mail session property can be turned on, what will happen with the replication that is running? and are there any other events that are going to happen if I do this?

What is the best way to set up an integrity check for the Main database? How often should it run? Will it affect the replication process? And how do I schedule it to run when I want it to?

Thanks,
    JD

Provided Answers: 11
    When you stop and restart SQL Agent, the replication agents should come back up normally. You can check this in Replication Monitor in Enterprise Manager, by looking for the Distribution Agents folder. Some will not show as running, if they are on an actual schedule, as opposed to running continuously. This is OK. You should be able to right click on each agent to check what the actual schedule is.

I usually do the integrity check (here, I am assuming you mean DBCC CHECKDB) on Sundays. Some people do theirs every day. This is because the performance can suffer while the integrity check is running. The actual impact for your database(s) will be something you will have to determine for yourself, though.

The replication agents are running constantly. I will have to wait for a down time to see if I can start/stop the SQL server agent to get the email working.