Thread: video files

Unanswered: video files

Hi there I need help as I need to create a database that holds information for video files that is able to be streamed to a website from a server.

I am very new to this and do not know where to start, any help is very much appreciated. thanks

Provided Answers: 59
    store the URL / path to the resource in the db, along with anythign else relevant eg running time, encoding and so on
    store any keywords etc in the db.. probably as a sub table.. depends on how many key wprds you want to use/allow/need

store the video clips in a location visible to the server / outside world
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Thanks for your help im starting to understand what to do now. Could you please explain to me what a sub table is and how it will work alsonside the database. So far I have created fields such as film name, film year, running time, etc.

Also when you say the url/path to the resource how does it link in the website, would a hyperlink become available once a certain film has been selected?

thanks for the help so far

sub table often called a child table, ie it has deatils expanding the defintion of the parent table. on example often you have an order which contains the stuf pertinent to that order (say an order date, delivery date, custoemr ID, delivery address and so on, and you have a child (or sub) table containing details of the items ordered

table: Videos
    ID
    Name
    Ref
    Publisher
    ...etc

table VideoKeyWords
    VideoID ... fk to Id in Videos
    Keyword string

if you wanted to constraint he keywords so that you have common keywords you could use

table: Videos
    Table: Keywords
    Word
    Categories
    Table: VideoKeywords
    VideoId (fk in Videos)
    Keyword (fk in Keywords)
    ..both are PK in VideoKeywords

so would the video id be the path to the resource or would that be under reference and what do you mean by keyword string?