Peformance Considerations for Bridge Entities

[This post assumes SQL Server 2008]

Is there any performance consideration for using a bridge entity vs. putting a Foreign Key in another "master" table? For example, suppose I have an Employee and their Department. I have a master table of Employees and a master table of Departments. Are there query performance considerations over putting a dept_id field in the Employees table over creating a bridge entity that contains an identity field, employee_id, and dept_id? I realize that there is another join for queries, but is it significant to performance?

Code:
    Employees          vs.          Employee_Departments
    ----------                      ----------------------
    id                               id
    dept_id                           employee_id
                                      dept_id
    How about a one-to-many situation? Suppose I have a table acting as a forum post history. Every new or edited post adds a new record to the Posts table, effectively like a transaction table / audit trail. In this situation, would putting the thread_id in the Posts table, and using a Composite Primary Key of thread_id, post_id, date_posted - or alternatively - an identity Primary Key, have any performance impact in queries vs. a Posts table with just a post_id and a bridge entity containing an identity field, thread_id, post_id, and date_posted?

Code:
    Posts                        vs.         Thread_Posts
    ----------                               ---------------
    id                                      id
    thread_id                                thread_id
    date_posted                            post_id
                                             date_posted (or some other indicatior for ORDER BY
    Retired Moderator at Xtreme VB Talk, for all of your Visual Basic needs.