Red face Unanswered: How to create report from 2 sorted queries

I have an Access database containing 2 tables. Tbl1 consist of ref#s and topics. Tbl2 consist of ref#s, topics, comments and dates. From this I created 2 queries. Query #1 has records from the table (topics/dates) sorted by date. Query #2 has the rest of the records (topics/comments) sorted alphabetically. Im an SQL novice and cant get my report to combine both queries, with the appropriate sorting. Each query looks how I want it, but when I combine them into one master query, it gets unsorted. I need one report sorted by topics where certain topics are sorted alphabetically and other topics by date.

I might make those queries into append queries and append them to a temp type table. Then open the temp table. Note: you'd want to 1st delete the values in the temp table, then run the 1st query to populate the values, then the 2nd (each query sorted how you want them to). Then when you open your temp table, you can leave the sorting based on how the records were appended or you can make a query from the Temp table which re-sorts them by 1 or more fields.

If you're working off of a report, consider a sub-report which also works. Look at the Sorting/Grouping property box in report designer for sorting.
    Last edited by pkstormy; 02-13-10 at 22:56.
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)