Unanswered: Transaction Log Backups

I have to preface this with the fact that I am a DBA in training and still a novice - kind of an accidental DBA so to speak, but trying to learn. I need some clarification about transaction logs. I currently have created a maintenance plan with a full back up once a day and hourly transaction log backups. Since the transaction log is a serial record of all the transactions that have been performed against the database since the transaction log was last backed up, if you had to restore the database would the last transaction log backup be sufficient for restoring all transactions performed since the last full backup? I guess I'm trying to understand what a transaction log backup contains. It seems to me if each time a transaction log is backed up there would be data missing because your performing a full database backup only once a day and each transaction log backup only contains data since the last log backup. When restoring would you have to restore all the transaction log backups to restore all data or just the last one? Does that make any sense? Again sorry - I'm still learning!

Provided Answers: 1
    You will have to restore the full backup, then recover in order all available logs since that backup.
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

Here's a way to visualize transaction logs and backups. Oversimplifying, but it may help.

Imagine you're using a graphics program to draw a person. You have everything done except the face (that's what's in the full backup). You add one eye, which is a transaction, and back it up. You add the nose, back that up, and so on. Now, if you lose that image, you have to restore the first main part, then each new part in turn. If you skip any of those parts, your picture won't be complete.