Hi everyone.
I have been playing around with databases for around ten years and though I often think that I have just about grasped something I then find I have got confused. Again!
It is not that I am a complete idiot though. Over the years I have picked up an acceptable (in my eyes!) working level of Excel, Dreamweaver, Front Page, Photoshop, Fireworks, InDesign, Serif Page Plus, CuteNews, Powerpoint , Flash and others simply by clicking on buttons to see what happens or searching the web for solutions to similar problems.
I have also tried this for things I have been trying to do in MS Access but for some reason just cannot pick it up. The only time I seem to be able to grasp it is if the problem that I am trying to solve has a solution somewhere, in exactly the context I need it. That way I can do a sort of 'reverse engineer' on it to understand how it works.
Having said that, one program that I use actually runs off of Access databases so have opened it in Access to try to understand it. The trouble was that the data in all the tables were ID numbers and although I do understand about ID's, relationships, primary and foreign keys to an extent, this is one of the things causing me most problems to understand.
I fully understand that linking tables creates smaller databases and faster indexing and that taking the ID number primary key from one table and linking it to the same ID number as a foreign key in the second table will mean that all data in the same row as the id number in either table will be linked.
However, what I cannot grasp (and I am sure I am just missing something simple) is how, when you are using ID numbers as a lookup in the second table, do you know you are selecting the right data. For example if you wanted to add a player to a game via a lookup you know what name to put in but you won't know the ID number.
As I said, this is probably very simple and bread and butter to you guys but I just don't get it!