Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    48

    Post Unanswered: startup oracle instance

    How to start oracle when i end it process tree from task manager in windows without restarting system

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    5,800
    Provided Answers: 11
    You should not stop an instance by ending the process in task manager, unless something is VERY wrong. Here is how to start and stop an Oracle instance:

    Starting Up and Shutting Down

    Note, there are some services that need to be started beforehand on Windows boxes.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    48
    yah i know these command but i had to terminate it cuz of i was practincing
    and write down anonymous pl/sql block when i execute it ,that block hang up my whole system ,nd left with no options but to end it process tree and now i want to start it again how can i do it?
    it gives me an error
    ora-12560:tnsrotocol adapter error

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    post results of following command


    set
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    48
    sorry sir i could not get u what do u mean by this??

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    5,800
    Provided Answers: 11
    Exactly what did you type in to get the error. And where did you type it in? Do you have any of the Oracle environmental variables (ORACLE_HOME, ORACLE_SID) set?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    48
    not really sir i m very new to oracle i dint know much about these enviroment variables where should i set it.
    i know the solution by simply restarting the computer but i dont want do it this way i want to start it without restarting my system.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •