Thread: Newbie Question

Question Unanswered: Newbie Question

Hi Folks

I am a newbie – it is my first post here – but I hope that you might be kind enough to help me…….

We run a website (Jigthings UK) (Sorry if the links not allowed) that is being completely redeveloped. The new site will contain about 60 pages and (this is crucial) each page needs to be served in three different languages – English, German and French. By the use of “Maxmind GeoIP” we can determine which country a visitor comes from and the idea is to then serve him/her with the relevant pages by querying our database.

The database is required to accommodate 60 pages or more with initially 3 sets of locale based content. Further locales may be added to a maximum of 20, though 6 is a more likely scenario within a 2 year timescale. Page count may rise or fall arbitrarily.

The 60 pages are accessed via 14 main sections, with a submenu structure per section. All content and menu sections (main) and subsections are locale specific and are built on the fly.

The question is “How do we structure the database so that it is both Normalized and easy to work with?”

My developer has suggested putting the data in just two tables as follows:

tablePages (approx 60 pages = records)
    page_ID_PK
    mainMenu_ID_FK
    pageFilename // add path in code to construct menu hotlink
    engSubMenuLegend //Locale 1
    engSubMenuDisplayOrder
    engTitle
    engKeywords
    engDesc
    engContent1
    engContent2
    engFooter1
    engFooter2
    gerSubMenuLegend //Locale 2
    gerSubMenuDisplayOrder
    gerTitle
    gerKeywords
    gerDesc
    gerContent1
    gerContent2
    gerFooter1
    gerFooter2
    fraSubMenuLegend //Locale 3
    fraSubMenuDisplayOrder
    fraTitle
    fraKeywords
    fraDesc
    fraContent1
    fraContent2
    fraFooter1
    fraFooter2
    //etc in blocks of 10 fields per locale in this example

tableSectionOrMainMenu (approx 14 records)
    mainMenu_ID_PK
    sectionName