Database Build - Game concept / inventory management

I've posted this in various other forums including the MySQL forum and just looking for helpful responses.

Some notes: MySQL database, MyISAM type (debatable, I don't know why I would use InnoDB or how it differs from MyISAM, but the book I am learning from uses MyISAM, granted it is an older book.)

Hey guys, I hate to be the nubcake but I am. So I am still learning php and as a side project as I learn skills I intend to build an online game. Obviously, this needs to be database driven. This is about the time I learned about normalization. Then I started to normalize my data and got even more confused. Note, current concept of the game doesn't involve any real strong user to user interaction.

Needs of my particular Database:
    Hold user information (name, password, email)
    Link that user its various creatures it owns
    Link that user to it's inventory (which should be easily changed)
    Link the various creatures to its equipped inventory
    Hold the various creatures statistics

so far I've gotten as far as this:
    USER
    user_id*
    user_name
    user_pass
    user_email

USER_STATS
    (perhaps this and the table above could be merged? I imagine additional statistics will eventually be added to each user, would it really make any difference to have the tables merged? )
    user_id*
    user_level
    user_health
    user_alignment

CREATURE
    user_id* (according to the laws of normalization this seems wrong because there would be lots of redundant data here. Is that right? Users can own multiple creatures)
    creature_id*
    creature_name
    creature_type
    creature_slots (number of inventory slots)

CREATURE_STATS
    (Again, perhaps this and the table above could be merged? I imagine additional statistics will eventually be added to each creature, would it really make any difference to have the tables merged? )
    creature_id*
    creature_level
    creature_str
    creature_dex