Red face Unanswered: Steps to split a primary database to use it as standby database

Hi,

I am quite new to DB2 world.

I need to split a primary database to use it as standby database.

I am aware of the following steps:
    1) Suspend I/O on the primary database
    2) Use appropriate operating system-level commands to split the mirror or mirrors from the primary database
    3) Resume I/O on the primary database
    4) Catalog the mirrored database on the secondary system
    5) Start the database instance on the secondary system
    6) Initialize the mirrored database on the secondary system using db2inidb
    7) etc etc

Problem is I am not aware of executing the step number: 2

I am using OS as SuSE 10u2. I am not using any external memory device
    I have 2 different machine of SuSE 10u2 and need to configura 1 as Primary database and second as Standby database.

Can you please help me with proper steps to execute and create split mirror of the database and import it as standby database on another machine ?

Please correct me if I am wrong anywhere.

Provided Answers: 5
    What DB2 version are you using?

What is your intention for the standby system?

Andy

Provided Answers: 1
    "Split mirror" operation must be supported by your storage subsystem. Talk to your storage administrator. If I were you I'd choose the backup method of setting up HADR.
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

Quote Originally Posted by ARWinner View Post
    What DB2 version are you using?

What is your intention for the standby system?

Andy
    I am using Db2 version 9.7

My objective for creation of standby database is to configure High Availability mode between the two DB2 servers.

Quote Originally Posted by n_i View Post
    "Split mirror" operation must be supported by your storage subsystem. Talk to your storage administrator. If I were you I'd choose the backup method of setting up HADR.