Thread: Database Design

Unanswered: Database Design

Ok I am extremely new at making databases. Right now I have an access database that I created to track several things I need to know for my job. The problem I am having is that I am trying to take my design to others to get this to be a universal template for all to use, but when I take it to our "Database people" they say that its a mess and not made correctly.

I am going to attach my main table that I use. Now the issue I am having is that I understand for correct design these all need to be split up, but when i do that I have no way to enter the data that I want to enter correctly.

I am using a query to calculate a goal for each hour based on the time available and the time it takes to build the product. I also use a Data Access Page to input all this information into the database. Now I have had no issues running it this way, but I know in terms of design its garbage.

Any suggestions?
    Attached Files Attached Files

You are probably not going to get many responses. When I tried to open your database I get the attached error.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Error.jpg  

Ok going to try attaching screen shots of it then. The Logs image is of my table. The query1 image shows the start of my query. Now the Lineload and product repeats for all 8 hours, but i didnt inclue them all. I then have query2 and query3 for each of the 8 hours as well. This is all populated by the data access page. Does that make sense?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Logs.jpg   Querie1.jpg   Querie2.jpg   Querie3.jpg   Data Access Page.jpg  

The database guys don't like it because the data is not Normalized. In your original post you say your "main table", do you have more then one table? To help normalize your table you need to remove any fields called HourX. You don't want to be limited to 8 hour fileds in case you end up doing 9 hour shifts. Your table should probably look more like: