Unanswered: How To Subtract The two Columns

i am new to microsoft access

i have made this simple file .

anyone please help me substract the two columns and show the result in third column

INCOME-EXPENDITURE=Savings

I want to use the above formula on SAVINGS Column please help
    Last edited by greensonu; 03-07-10 at 04:58.

Quote Originally Posted by greensonu View Post
    i am new to microsoft access

i have made this simple file .

anyone please help me substract the two columns and show the result in third column

INCOME-EXPENDITURE=Savings

I want to use the above formula on SAVINGS Column please help

Hi, I'm really not so keen on downloading, but I hope I can help anyway...
    If you're new to Access I think the easiest way is to do a query that calculates for you. A standard (select) query, that will show this column each time you open the query...

Create a New query in design view. Add your columns to the grid (click and drag, if you're really really new...) and in the field heading for Savings you write like this:

Savings: [INCOME]-[EXPENDITURE]

A general tip: The help section of MS Access is a great help (better than most other MS helps I think)... Search for calculate query and you'll find topics of interest!

Good luck with Access!
    /Nenne

Hi, I'm really not so keen on downloading, but I hope I can help anyway...
    If you're new to Access I think the easiest way is to do a query that calculates for you. A standard (select) query, that will show this column each time you open the query...

Create a New query in design view. Add your columns to the grid (click and drag, if you're really really new...) and in the field heading for Savings you write like this:

Savings: [INCOME]-[EXPENDITURE]

A general tip: The help section of MS Access is a great help (better than most other MS helps I think)... Search for calculate query and you'll find topics of interest!

Good luck with Access!
    /Nenne