Unanswered: building a complex query in Access 2007

Hi folks - database noob here, please be patient! I'm building my first "real" Access 2007 application and I'm stuck. Because I'm new, I have no idea whether I am missing something simple, or trying to do something really hard or even impossible. I don't really know what to search for, either. Experienced words would be very welcome!

The application is essentially about managing people doing shifts. My two main tables, surprisingly, are "people" (person ID plus sundry attributes) and "shifts" (date, time, type and person ID).

I've got a number of queries, forms and reports which are working fine, but I'm stuck on a particular query I want to make... I want a list of people who are eligible to do a particular type of shift, together with the last date they did one (may be never).

The first part is easy - just a select query on my people table with the right criteria and there it is, a list of people eligible to do that type of shift.

Then it gets harder: I have a select query on the "shifts" table which gives me a list of all the shifts of that type together with who did it. This is ok, but of course a particular person may have done that shift several times, so how do I find the latest one for each person? Also, the people in this query aren't necessarily the same as the ones in the first ... there will be people in the first query who have never done that kind of shift before, and there will also be people in the second query who aren't valid any more (perhaps they've left).

So, any clues please? How can I combine these pieces of information to get the result I want? Something like:

Code:
    Fred  never
    Mary  never
    Bill  2009-06-15
    John  2009-09-22
    Tony  2010-02-02
    TIA!

Ceejay