Unanswered: switchboard items

hi there, i am creating a switch board and ideally i would like users to enter the database in either read-only mode or edit mode (if they need to)

any1 can click on read-only mode but only some users can go into the edit mode so they need a username and password,

can someone guide me as to where to start first as i havent got a clue

im not too good with VB either

Madison, WI
    I wouldn't use the switchboard. The switchboard 'wizard' creates a table and the switchboard form is then bound to that table. On Main Menu type forms, it's good practice to keep this form 'unbound' from any recordsource. Reason - since user's typically keep the Main Menu form open, you really don't want this form bound to a table as this can eventually cause the mdb (ie. the associated *.ldb file) to become 'locked' for other users.

Instead, design a form without the wizard (and don't put in a recordsource for the form's property) and then just add buttons to the form to open your other forms. You typically want any non-data type forms unbound from any recordsource. Especially if you anticipate (such as with a Main Menu), that the user might keep this form open for a long time.

Personally, I think the switchboard is the worst feature MSAccess ever designed.

If you want to setup a user/password permissions type system, you may want to look at this example: