Unanswered: DB2 Client Configuration on Linux

I am new to DB2, so bear with me if my questions sound dumb
    I need to be able to connect from a Linux server to a DB2 database running on iSeries (AS/400). My UNIX admin has installed a Client on the server, but apparently it is not fully configured - there is nothing in
    /opt/ibm/db2/V9.5/install ,
    no instance was created, and if I try running any commands, e.g.,
    /opt/ibm/db2/V9.5/bin]$ ./db2 catalog ,
    I get error:
    SQL10007N Message "-1390" could not be retrieved. Reason code: "3".
    What do I need to do? Run this
    [/opt/ibm/db2/V9.5/instance]$ ./db2icrt
    as root?
    And add service to /etc/services ?
    Anything else?

For the install of the client, you are on the right track, but look in the documentation for installation instructions.

You will also need DB2 Connect (of just DB2 Connect) to get to DB2 iSeries or DB2 on z/OS. However, you may be able to find a product with a temporary trial license.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

With all due respect, why do I get the feeling that this is massively more complicated than doing it in Windows? In Windows all I had to do is to install a iSeries ODBC driver (under 1 minute) and that was that.
    Ultimately all I am trying to do is to enable perl scripts to run queries on that DB on iSeries - connect, retrieve some data, pass it on to some other processes. So first I had to install special perl modules. This, in turn, required installation of a DB2 Client (either runtime or larger) plus upgrading some related RedHat packages. And now I have to get this whole middleware set - and pay additional license? - just to be able to do that?

Perhaps I did not make myself clear in the first place. This is just a client install. Why would it be so infinitely more complicated than Oracle or Sybase?