Unanswered: Running Anti-Virus on a windows Oracle server

Hi,
    I've got 2 oracle 10g servers running windows 2003. They have been running for a while and so all that's good.
    A flash oracle consultant from one of my software suppliers has flown in and told me to get rid of the anti-virus on the 2 oracle servers. He says that anti-virus should NEVER be run on an Oracle server.
    This is giving me sleepless nights.
    I come from a windows background and i have never put a windows server onto any network without antivirus (unless it was a testing server that i could afford to lose).

Does anyone else out there run oracle on windows with an AV? I have been doing this for 5 years now and it has been fine. And, until i was told, i didn't realise that my instance was in immanent danger of crashing - i still find it hard to believe, but perhaps i have been lucky? (and i'm certainly not an oracle expert so it really would be luck!)

My compromise is to add a lot of exclusions for the on-access scanning. I was thinking to add *.dbf, *.log and *.ctl file extensions.
    I wonder if this would be a sensible compromise? And if there are some other oracle file types that should definitely be left out of a virus scan.

Your instance isn't going to crash, the problem is that the AV steals a lot of cycles from the processor. It the ONLY thing on the server is the database and you never use it for any other application, how could it get infected.
    Bill
    You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.

Provided Answers: 11
    Quote Originally Posted by beilstwh
    ...how could it get infected.
    I believe this qualifies for "Famous Last Words". There are a number of viruses for Windows that can be transmitted just through the network, and need no help from email attachments. The Sasser worm comes to mind.