Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Unanswered: How do I make this promising code do what I want?

Hey everyone. It seems like I'm on here every night with a new question, sorry for that. I'm new to this and have found tremendously useful help on this forum. Not only does my problem get solved, but I have also learned WHY the solution worked. Anyway, my problem for tonight is as follows:

I have a form that creates a new record in a table. I'd like for it to serve one more purpose. When the record is created, I'd like to export the information from that record into a predetermined Excel workbook, into a predetermined tab (worksheet?). This will all be done (hopefully) with the On_Click of a command button. I was looking through the code bank, which is super helpful if you know what you're looking for, when I came across a code that I believe will help. I simply need to know where to put this code, and what to put in the obvious "modify me" line. All I want for it to do is paste the information. I don't need formatting or anything, as of right now. All of this will be handled by my buddy who is an Excel wizard. The code is as follows.

Code:
    Dim AppXL As Excel.Application
    Dim BookXL As Excel.Workbook
    Dim FilePath As String

Set AppXL = New Excel.Application
    FilePath = "c:\myfile.xls"
    With AppXL
    .Workbooks.Open FileName:=FilePath 
    .Sheets("MySheet").Select
    .Rows("1:1").Select
    ' do whatever you want to do with the selected sheet here
    .ActiveWorkbook.Save
    .ActiveWorkbook.Close
    .Quit
    End With
    Set AppXL = Nothing
    There's some obvious editing in there that needs to be done, but from the looks of it, I should be able to fairly easily select the desired excel workbook and worksheet. The line of code that I don't know what to do with is the one with the comment. Also, the code as a whole: where does it go? can it simply be made into a macro or part of the On_Click function? Sorry if these are n00b questions. I'm a n00b.

EDIT: