Unanswered: 2gig limit migrate to SQL backend?

I am a self-taught Access user. I've built a database for a client and will quickly run into the 2 gig limit. Can I use MySQL on my desktop to access the data stored on a network and still have people using Access as the front end? Are there any issues with the Access front end being linked to GIS data? Are there any books to walk me through these steps?

Thanks.

Marybeth

Provided Answers: 14
    As far as you use a server (SQL Server, MySQL...) as the container of the tables for your application, there should not be any problem if you youse the Front-End/Back-End model: the linked tables of your application reside on the server instead of residing in a MDB file. You just have to be sure that each table has a primary key or, more precisely an identity column (a value that is unique for each row into a table).

It will become more complex if you intend to use the functionalities of such a server (stored procedures, computed columns, etc.).

Of course, a server requires a minimum of maintenance (backup, etc.) but that can easily be learned.
    Have a nice day!

Any suggestions on reading material. I have never worked in SQL except for what is in Access.

You have first to precise which server you plan to use; from SQL Server to MySQL (among several others) the needed documentation may vary.
    Have a nice day!

Probably MySQL since we can't afford the full version. There's a Microsoft product Desktop engine. Do you know anything about this?

I'd recommend SQL Server (the free Express version if cost is a factor). I believe though that there is a 2 gig limit on the free edition. You can though, pick up a SQL Server 2000 version really cheap if cost is a factor (finding it though may be challenging). I actually like SQL Server 2000 versus 2005 or 2008.