Thread: Key conundrum.

Key conundrum.

Hey all, I'm somewhat new to databases (did a bit 7 years ago, but...). And I'm busy trying to code a webstore (deep end etc), and am currently stuck on a barcode table....

Concept:
    I have a seperate table with basic descriptions of products (mostly video games), however, I can have multiple items with different barcodes which are effectively the same product - say, a release from a seperate region that has identicle artwork and contents, just a different barcode.

Some though will differ slightly more, with a "Re-Release" version, which is still the same product description, but has different artwork and possibly slightly differing contents (not enough to change a basic description, but enough for me to just record that it's a re-release).

Also, for either a regular (non) re-release, or a re-release product, I may want to go "Search Amazon for prices this product". I then need a way to single out a single barcode that is most likely to give a return for a single product (the "original" regular release, or "original" re-release, or whatever's most likely to be found in the wild and used by most other stores).

Therefore, when one product has multiple barcodes for either a regular release or re-release, I need to lable one of them as a primary barcode.

Code:
    Barcodes
    id	ProductID	Barcode		Re-release?	Primary release?
    1	1		711711		N		Y
    2	1		711712		N		N
    7	1		711715		N		N
    3	1		711713		Y		Y
    4	1		711714		Y		N
    5	2		819110		Y		Y
    6	2		819112		N		Y

ID = unique id for table contents.
    ProductID is a link to a description of the generic product.
    Barcode is a unique barcode for a product.
    Re-release is boolean, whether the release is a re-release product or not.
    Primary, bool, should be set at least and only once for every unique productid/re-release pair on the most common barcode (ie. prod 1 re-release N, 1 / Y, 2 / N, 2 / Y, 3 / N, 3 / Y etc etc).