Unanswered: auto increment integer field on new record

Hi All,
    I'm new to Access and foolishly volunteered to create a Access DB for my camera repair store's invoicing system I'm stuck on what I would think would be a fairly simple process and I was hoping to get some help from the peeps on this forum.

Basically, I've got an invoice table and I want to auto-update the invoice number (starting from 55208) every time a new record is created. I've come up with this code so far:

Dim intTestInt As Long

intTestInt = Me.Label10.Caption
    intTestInt = intTestInt + 1
    Me.Label10.Caption = intTestInt

which works fine but I don't know how to tie it in properly to my database. Thanks for helping a noob!

Nick

Just use the autonumber data type - it will do this for you. There are lots of long winded and complicated reasons why rolling your own is not a good idea but I won't bore you with them.

Hi Pootle Flump,
    Thanks! I'll give that a try

Nick

Provided Answers: 6
    I would tend to agree but want to point out the caveat that autonumbers can skip numbers under certain conditions (for instance when a new record is started but aborted). Often times invoice systems can't use autonumber because of this (audit issues). If that's not a problem, I'd certainly stick with the autonumber. If not, you'll need to go another way.
    Paul

Quote Originally Posted by intergnat1 View Post
    Hi All,
    I'm new to Access and foolishly volunteered to create a Access DB for my camera repair store's invoicing system I'm stuck on what I would think would be a fairly simple process and I was hoping to get some help from the peeps on this forum.

Basically, I've got an invoice table and I want to auto-update the invoice number (starting from 55208) every time a new record is created. I've come up with this code so far:

Dim intTestInt As Long

intTestInt = Me.Label10.Caption
    intTestInt = intTestInt + 1
    Me.Label10.Caption = intTestInt