Unanswered: Recovering DB from copied folder?

Hi there, I'm not an expert when it comes to stuff like this, so please bear with me at times.

Anyways, I recently had to format my system partition and didnt backup my DB, but instead made a mirrored copy when just backing up all files.
    Now I've spent quite some time trying to recover my old DB from these raw files. I was using 8.3 so I made sure to get that version and encountered various errors.
    I tried to

• just install a fresh version, delete the /data folder and replace it with the old one resulting in the service being unable to start at all.

• install the fresh version into a directory containng the old /data folder, got an error message saying the data folder already existing was from an older version and initdb could not be performed, I installed anyway and wasnt able to start service again.

• install a fresh version, redirect it to the old /data by both altering the postgresql.config and changing the -D value in regedigt, resulting in the service being unable to start, again.

So, is there something I'm doing terribly wrong? If it is in fact impossible to recover my DB like this, is there any way to actually get a backup-file without the service running just from the files itself?

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Provided Answers: 12
    Quote Originally Posted by tozzy View Post
    Anyways, I recently had to format my system partition and didnt backup my DB, but instead made a mirrored copy when just backing up all files.
    That will only work, if Postgres was not running when you took the backup.
    If Postgres was running, then I guess you are out of luck.

just install a fresh version, delete the /data folder and replace it with the old one resulting in the service being unable to start at all.
    That should work (did it myself already), but only if Postgres was not running when you took the backup.