Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    3

    Unanswered: hello to everyone for first time

    i am new in oracle...
    i am studying with oracle11...
    i create a database with "database configuration assistant", as exp...
    then i configure tnsname.ora for new database...
    then i create listener.ora with "net configuration assistant" for database.....
    after all...i connected exp with sql*plus
    then i create a table as "exper01" with sql*plus...and enter values to this table...
    i tried to connect my "exp" database with sql developer..i connected..but i can not see my "exper01" table...there is alot of tables names include $...
    then create two other tables names as "exper02" and "exper03"...
    i can see these tables with sql developer... but can not acces these 02 and 03 with sql*plus...
    how i can see my tables at sql*plus and sql develeoper sane time?
    and how can i hide system tables atmy sql developer connection?

    best regards

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    >i connected exp with sql*plus
    GREATE!

    using CUT & PASTE show us the whole session from before invoking sqlplus until EXIT

    We need to see exactly what you do & how Oracle responds.

    You would greatly benefit from Reading The Fine Manual below.
    http://download.oracle.com/docs/cd/B...b14220/toc.htm

    You need to learn about schema & privileges. You only "see" table you own or you have been given permission to access.
    Last edited by anacedent; 04-11-10 at 21:20.
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    57
    I think you have connected from sql plus and sql developer using different users.

    In this case to view your tables in sqlplus after connecting to session use
    Code:
    ALTER SESSION SET CURRENT_SCHEMA=<user who created that table>
    else

    while querying to your created table use schema name i.e.
    <user who created table>.<table name>
    Ritesh Kumar Singh
    IBM Certified DB2 DBA for LUW
    **Knowledge Is Theft If Not Shared !!**

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    3
    no, i connected as "system" two of them....
    sql*plus "system/pass@exp as sysdba"....
    sql developer "system, pass, sid=exp"....

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Croatia, Europe
    Posts
    4,094
    Provided Answers: 4
    If that was the case, I'd expect that a table created in SQL*Plus should be visible in SQL Developer as well.

    Just a remark: do not test your skills in SYS or SYSTEM schemas - create another user and do whatever you want there. Leave SYS(TEM) alone.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    623
    Quote Originally Posted by viewer View Post
    no, i connected as "system" two of them....
    sql*plus "system/pass@exp as sysdba"....
    sql developer "system, pass, sid=exp"....
    And hostname in SQL Developer connection? Does it match the hostname in TNSNAMES.ORA for EXP entry? Does this query return the same values in both environments?
    Code:
    SELECT sys_context('USERENV', 'SERVER_HOST'),
           sys_context('USERENV', 'DB_DOMAIN'),
           sys_context('USERENV', 'DB_NAME'),
           sys_context('USERENV', 'AUTHENTICATION_METHOD'),
           sys_context('USERENV', 'CURRENT_SCHEMA')
    FROM dual;
    Quote Originally Posted by viewer
    and how can i hide system tables atmy sql developer connection?
    Do not connect as SYSTEM, create new user with appropriate privileges.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    3
    flyboy;

    i am working at oracle server...
    at tnsname.ora, with ip of server....
    at sql developer, with "localhost"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    623
    Quote Originally Posted by viewer View Post
    flyboy;

    i am working at oracle server...
    at tnsname.ora, with ip of server....
    at sql developer, with "localhost"
    Hm, are you really running SQL Developer on the server?
    Are you sure you examining the TNSNAMES.ORA file used by SQL Plus?
    What about the results of the query I posted? Are they really the same?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •