Unanswered: using a variable instead of fieldname in query SQL

Hi guys,

I am new to the Access world (but less to the SQL, coming from the GIS world) and as this is my first post I'd like to thank you all as I've found this forum to be very very helpful in learning how to use Access.

I have an Access 2003 database that documents orders of supplies for an electricity store. The database (named "work_table") has a few fields such as OrderNumber, OrderDate, InCharge (housing the name of the staff member who made the order), Firm (housing the name of the firm the order was made from), Cable1Num (housing the number of Cable1 units that were ordered in this specific order), Cable2Num (housing the number of Cable2 units that were ordered in this specific order) and so on ( I have 11 such numeric fields, one for each type of inventory).

I am trying to build a report that will give the manager of the store a full picture of his supply orders. I want that in the query leading to the report, the manager will be able to define a range of dates and a inventory name (which means 2 textboxes for the FromDate and ToDate and a combobox for the inventory type) and the report will give all orders of that inventory in that period of time.

My basic SQL query was this:

SELECT work_table.*
    FROM work_table
    WHERE (((work_table.Cable1Num)>0) And ((work_table.OrderDate) Between Forms!reportform2!startdate And Forms!reportform2!enddate));

The above sql query is good if I have one or two types of inventories, since every query (and thus the report leading to it) is unique for that inventory. As I have eleven of those, and I don't want to fill my mdb with too many queries and reports, I am looking for a different solution.

MY QUESTION:

Is it possible to put a field name variable in the basic sql that will update according to a combobox value?

Something like:

SELECT work_table.*
    FROM work_table